Facing commercial DUIs in Scottsdale are different than if you get a DUI on your personal license. You can quickly get in trouble and lose your license for a while, or even permanently. From the moment you are charged with any type of DUI in Arizona, your commercial license is on the line. If your blood alcohol level comes back at 0.04% or higher, you can be disqualified to drive for an extended period of time. It is very important you understand what all goes into commercial DUIs in Scottsdale. The more you know, the easier it is to avoid getting in trouble because you made a poor choice.
Things to Know About Commercial DUIs in Scottsdale
There are some very important things to know about commercial DUIs in Arizona before getting on the road. First, you should never have any type of alcohol or drugs in your system and get behind the wheel. This may seem obvious to some, but many people are under the impression they can have “just one” and be alright. This is not the case. Even one drink can be enough to cause a problem. It only takes a 0.04% blood alcohol level if you are a commercial driver. What’s more is that you can be driving your personal vehicle at the time, and still have it affect your commercial driver’s license.
A commercial driver can be charged with a DUI in Scottsdale for driving any vehicle while under the influence of any substance that alters his or her ability to function and respond properly. It does not matter if you have not been drinking if you are under the influence of any other substance. If you were using your vehicle to commit any type of felony, this can also take away your ability to use your commercial driver’s license. Also, when you drive on a commercial driver’s license, you are also expected to take a test that determines your blood alcohol level at any time, with or without notice. If you refuse to do so, it can cause you to lose your license.
Should you be pulled over and operating any vehicle with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, you can have both your personal and commercial drivers license suspended. However, they do not need to be suspended for the same amount of time. You may get your personal license back after 30 days, but there are qualifiers you have to meet to even apply to get your commercial license back. It is simply not worth the risk.
Consequences for Commercial DUIs in Arizona
If you get pulled over for the first time with a blood alcohol level of at least 0.04% but less than 0.15%, you will face a DUI in Arizona. This means you will spend at least 10 days in a local jail, and face at least $1,250 in court costs and fines. Second offenses take the jail time up to 90 days, and raise the fines to at least $3,000. You will also lose your license for a minimum of 12 months without any chance of getting it back during that time.
Should you get pulled over with a blood alcohol level of 0.15% or higher, then you are looking at 30 days, minimum, in jail, and at least $2,500 in fines. Second offenses increase the jail time to 120 days, and increase the fines to over $3,250. Plus, you will again lose your license for a minimum of 12 months. You will also have to meet specific criteria to get your license back after the 12 months are up.
You Can Get Commercial DUIs in Scottsdale for Refusing to Take the Chemical Test
The most confusing part for most commercial drivers is that they can have their commercial driver’s licenses suspended for refusing to take a chemical test. If you are told by a police officer that you appear to be under the influence and that you need to take the chemical test to see where you are at, you can choose to take it or not. However, if you decline to take that test, you will face consequences.
The first refusal will result in your commercial driver’s license for 12 months. That is the minimum. Should you have a history of commercial DUIs in Scottsdale, that time can go up to 24 months. From there, you need to again meet specific criteria to reinstate the license. If you wind up with several commercial DUIs in Scottsdale or Arizona, or you have several test refusals on your record, it can leave you in a position where your commercial driver’s license is permanently revoked. This means you would need to find a totally new way to earn a living.
There Is Help Out There if You Struggle with Commercial DUIs in Scottsdale
Commercial DUIs in Scottsdale, Arizona can change your entire life. Simply saying you do not want to take a test can also alter your life. The assumption at that point is that you have something to hide. The best thing you can do if you have nothing to hide is to take the test. However, if you have an issue with alcohol, or if you are not sure if you do, then you should look into help.
Here at Alcohol Screening Scottsdale, we are the type of help you want. We can discuss your habits and help you figure out if you have an issue with alcohol. If you have faced commercial DUIs, we can help you get alcohol out of your life once and for all.
Call Alcohol Screening Scottsdale at (602) 682-7017. Let us help you get in touch with us and let us guide you through this. We understand that sometimes, everyone makes a mistake. Let us help you take responsibility for your mistake, and work with you to make that mistake something you can put into your past.