Arizona’s DUI laws are rigorously enforced by state agencies because they believe that driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is very dangerous. This is why when you are arrested for drinking and driving you will be faced with some very severe penalties, including points on your driving record, jail sentences, license suspensions, and steep fines. Things are even worse when you fail or refuse to take a chemical test. However, before you get arrested for drinking and driving you really should know what to expect.
Being Cited and Convicted of a DUI in Scottsdale
When a law enforcement officer issues you a citation for a Scottsdale DUI because you have failed a chemical test, you can expect your license to be suspended immediately. At this point, you will be required to complete an alcohol screening and driver education courses. Doing so will result in you either obtaining a restricted credential license or having your license restored. This may sound relatively easy and painless, but you must realize that this is only for your first offense. If the court finds you guilty of multiple offenses, you should expect the penalties to increase in severity. As such, it is important to understand what you can expect here.
Scottsdale DUI Violations and Penalties
When you find yourself being charged with a DUI in Scottsdale, you will also find yourself facing serious punishments. These punishments are metered out by both the state Department of Transportation and the corresponding court. Exactly what type of punishment you will receive will depend on several factors, chief amongst which are what your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is, how old you are, and how many citations you have had on your past driving record.
As you find yourself facing your first DUI offense in Scottsdale, Arizona, you will find that while the penalties are stiff, they are not unbearable. You will have to pay some small fines and spend some time in prison, but both these things will be far less than what recurring offenders find themselves faced with. Typically, you will have your license suspended for at least 90 days, spend at least 10 consecutive days in jail, and pay a minimum fine of $1,250.
Now if you do not learn from your mistake the first time and thus commit a second DUI offense, you should expect to face more severe punishments. At this point, your minimum fine will be $3,000 and you will spend at least 90 days in prison. You will also have your license revoked for a period of one year. At this point, you may also have to undergo mandatory alcohol treatment which we can help you with, have a certified ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your car for you to use, and you may also be forced to complete some community service work.
Committing More Severe DUI Violations in Scottsdale, AZ
There are also a few types of DUI in Scottsdale, AZ that are considered much more severe under penalty of Arizona law. These include:
- Extreme DUI is when you are caught driving with a BAC of .15 or higher. The first time you are charged with an extreme DUI you’ll have to pay a fine of at least $2,500, but the second time you are caught committing an extreme DUI it is even worse because your fine will be no less than $3,250. You will also face other penalties here, including mandatory community service, spending time in jail, and undergoing mandatory alcohol screenings to make sure that you remain sober.
- An aggravated DUI is one you commit when you are driving on a suspended or a revoked license. You can also be charged with an aggravated DUI if you are arrested for drinking and driving for a third time within a 7-year period. Not only will you face even more fines and jail time than you would with an extreme DUI, but it is a good idea to get an attorney to represent you at this point. The penalties for an aggravated DUI are rather severe and the likelihood of you decreasing them on their own is not very high.
Getting Help When You Are Arrested for Drinking and Driving in Arizona
This is a crime that Arizona refuses to take lightly because they truly understand just how bad driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol is. When you consume any of these substances, your reflexes are greatly reduced, and you become unable to see clearly or to recognize when you encounter a dangerous situation. As you stop to think about how this would inhibit your operation of a 4,000+ lbs. vehicle, you can see how this can easily become a deadly situation for you and anyone you encounter while on the road. This is why Arizona’s driving laws strictly prohibit you from consuming alcohol before you drive your car. Essentially, it is out of concern that you may seriously injure or kill yourself or someone with whom you are sharing the road.
Unfortunately, even when you understand the risks that are involved with a DUI, you may still have a momentary lapse in judgment that causes you to have an unforeseen or unexpected situation come up. When this happens, and you find yourself being charged with a DUI in the state of Arizona, one of the best things you can do for yourself is to reach out to professionals who understand the process and can help make it just a bit easier for you. That advice can be the difference between facing minimal DUI consequences or facing consequences that follow you around for the rest of your life.
At Alcohol Screening Scottsdale, we can help. Our services are set up to help you manage and understand any consequences that come with being arrested for drinking and driving. Give us a call at 602-682-7017. Regardless of how you choose to get in touch with us, we hope you will do so as soon as you are charged with a Scottsdale DUI. Over the years, we have helped many clients manage the results of the DUI they were charged with, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to do the same for you.